82 Liquifire Ignition Coil Burning Up

Technical topics related to machines powered by Kasasaki motors
JDXpowered

82 Liquifire Ignition Coil Burning Up

Post by JDXpowered »

I have an 82 Liquifire with electric start.

I cleaned up and repainted this sled last year. This year I charged up the battery, cleaned carbs and when I went to start it, it just kept turning over no start. I pulled the plugs, no spark. While trouble shooting, I noted that it would smoke around the rear of the coil box. I put a spare coil box on it (the ones they don’t make anymore..., it sparked for a few turns then stopped. I put this box on one of my other sleds, and of course it now doesn’t work....

Does anyone have any idea what would cause this? Or what I could check? I am pretty worried about finding another box and don’t want to swap out anything for fear of burning up things.

Thanks
AirborneX4Special

Re: 82 Liquifire Ignition Coil Burning Up

Post by AirborneX4Special »

I'm not an ignition expert but something of that nature would sure indicate a hard short in all things electrical. I tore a bad trigger unit apart one time and there wasn't much magic inside. Something must have gotten hot due to excessive loading and the plastic started to melt because there's just a couple coils inside if memory serves me correctly.
nick80lf

Post by nick80lf »

I agree seems like something is shorted. Inside the engine there are three coil: exciter, pulser and lighting. The battery is charged by the lighting coil. The CDI uses the exciter / pulser. Could there be something funny happening with the key switch that is putting battery power into the CDI circuit?
80 Liquifire (purchased 1996 ~ Running)
80 Liquifire (purchased 2010 ~ Running....Now)
80 Liquifire (purchased 2011 ~ Not running - I officially have a problem now)
83 Snowfire (purchased 2014 father/son restoration project)
78 Spitfire ~ sold (should have been shot for this)
nick80lf

Post by nick80lf »