Deere Hunting: Finding the IFS Liquifire

JoeRainville

Post by JoeRainville »

It's been a long time coming, but an 1981 era IFS Liquifire prototype finally surfaced after being locked away for some 25 years.

I first hears rumors of this "Strut Liquifire" way back in 1990 from surveyor named Winston at power company in Vermont (CVPS) where I was a co-op student. He told me about a prototype Liquifire he saw back in the mid 80's. It had a strut IFS, but was "kind of rough around the edges" as it wasn't a production sled. I was lead to believe that this could have been the 1985 Liquifire. I was sceptical, but hoped to find out more info.

Then in an August 1993 issue of SnoGoer, there was a "Timeline" Artical about the 2nd generation John Deere Liquifire. After describing the some of the details of the 1980-84 with a few small errors (missing the intro of the TR-800 by a year and when describing the HRS ignition, failed to mention it came out in 82) the artical went on to talk about Stan Hays: "He described an independant strut front end that was being tested back in the 80's. To compliment the front, a long travel rear would have to be utilized"

There it was in print. So Winston was right after all...

And here is the last few paragraphs where Stan was quoted about the IFS Prototypes:

Last edited by JoeRainville on Wed Feb 03, 2010 1:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Honorary Tech Editor

Chuck Norris doesn't get frost bite. He bites the frost.
JoeRainville

Post by JoeRainville »