Trailfire LX questions - new rider

General topics related to John Deere Snowmobiles
ford141

Trailfire LX questions - new rider

Post by ford141 »

So, I'm looking forward to getting my new 83 Trailfire LX ready for the snow. I'm new to these machines, and to sleds in general, so go easy on a newbie...

First question: How does the windshield attach? When I got the sled the windshield was on it, but not attached. There are no retainers with it either. What kind of retainers do these use and how do they work?

Second: My wife wants to ride with me on the Trailfire for short rides when we go to camp this winter. I'd like to get her a backrest to make the ride a little more comfortable. Where should I look for a backrest? Did JD ever put a backrest on these machines?

Third: I'd like to install a tach since my sled doesn't have one. Anyone have one they would like to sell me? Can they just be plugged in?

JDT

Re: Trailfire LX questions - new rider

Post by JDT »

The windshield is held on with O-rings. You stretch them over the tabs from underneath.

Used a heavier o-ring like 1/8" and an ID if around 3/4".

Backrests were an option on all JD models. There are two backrest kits out there. A wide track kit only fits the 73-75 JD 600's.
The other kit fits all other JD models. Installation requires not drilling or cutting. It just bolts right on. Looks and works well.

The option tach kit is plug and play. NOS ones are available. Install is very easy. Drilling the hole is the only tricky part.
Todd Schrupp

Milbank SD
ford141

Post by ford141 »

Any idea where I could find one of the backrest kits? Are they available new?
JDT

Post by JDT »

There is a member here who had kits. tasky is the handle.

Try posting in the classifieds.
That is a nice clean looking LX you have found.
Todd Schrupp

Milbank SD
AirborneX4Special

Post by AirborneX4Special »

The o - rings tend to break easily, especially the ones that come with a new replacement windshield. I use black zip ties.